Leprous is a Norwegian rock band from Notodden, formed in 2001. The group was founded by singer and keyboardist Einar Solberg and guitarist Tor Oddmund Suhrke. After releasing several demos with relatively unstable lineups, the band released their first studio album, Tall Poppy Syndrome, in 2009. They subsequently gained prominence as the live backing band of Ihsahn (who is Solberg's brother-in-law), who, in turn, contributed on several Leprous records as guest singer or producer. Their acclaimed 2011 album Bilateral led to further attention. After two albums which followed the same musical direction, Coal (2013) and The Congregation (2015), Leprous took a more rock-oriented and less metal approach with Malina (2017), their first record not to feature harsh vocals. Leprous further experimented on 2019's Pitfalls, which saw the band mixing art rock, pop and progressive influences into their established sound. Leprous released their seventh studio album Aphelion on 27 August 2021. Their albums have received mostly positive reviews.


LabelsCentury Media
Previous membersStian Lonar Esben Meyer Kristensen Kenneth Solberg Truls Vennman Halvor Strand Tor Stian Borhaug Rein Blomquist Martin Skrebergene Øystein Landsverk Tobias Ørnes Andersen
MembersEinar Solberg Tor Oddmund Suhrke Robin Ognedal Baard Kolstad Simen Børven
Years of activity2001–present

similar artists