Popol Vuh

Popol Vuh

Popol Vuh were a German musical collective founded by keyboardist Florian Fricke in 1969 together with Frank Fiedler (sound design, fine cut), Holger Trülzsch (percussion), and Bettina Fricke (tablas and production). Other important members during the next two decades included Djong Yun, Renate Knaup, Conny Veit, Daniel Fichelscher, Klaus Wiese, and Robert Eliscu. The band took its name from the Mayan manuscript containing the mythology of highland Guatemala's K'iche' people.Popol Vuh began as an electronic music project, but under Fricke's leadership they soon abandoned synthesizers for organic instrumentation and world music influences. They developed a productive working partnership with director Werner Herzog, contributing scores to films such as Aguirre, The Wrath of God (1972), Nosferatu the Vampyre (1979), and Fitzcarraldo (1982). The group are associated with West Germany's 1970s krautrock movement and are considered progenitors of new-age and ambient music. Today, Popol Vuh's best-reviewed works are In den Gärten Pharaos (1971) and Hosianna Mantra (1972).


LabelsLiberty, Pilz, United Artists, Kosmische Kuriere, Brain, Innovative Communications
RelatedAmon Düül II
Previous membersFlorian Fricke Frank Fiedler Holger Trülzsch Djong Yun Conny Veit Daniel Fichelscher Klaus Wiese Bob Eliscu Renate Knaup Bettina Fricke Alois Gromer Ted De Jong Guido Hieronymus Maya Rose
Years of activity1969–2001

similar artists